INTERVIEW WITH A CHEF FROM THE HORSE’S MOUTH

from-the-horses-mouthLET’S NOW TALK TO CHEF PAUL HANNAM

Paul, can you tell me a bit about yourself? Yes. I’m Head Chef at The Moorings in Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire. I’ve been a chef for most of my life – all of my life really.

So you’ve only ever been a chef? Most of the time I’ve been a chef but I have also owned my own bars and restaurants.

Where were they? In Manchester, Todmorden and Hebden Bridge.

Where were you brought up as you’re half-Maltese aren’t you? My dad was Maltese and my mother was English. I was born in England (my mother didn’t want to have me in Malta as the hospitals at that time weren’t very good) but as soon as I was about three weeks old we went back to Malta and I lived there until I was sixteen.

Why did you leave Malta? My mum and dad got divorced and my mum moved back to England. Initially, I stopped in Malta with my dad but I used to visit my mum who had a pub at that time – she used to serve food there and I used to help her in the kitchen with the cooking.

To read more and subscribe for free, please click on the following link: www.deancharltonmag.com

Leave a Reply

