AN INTERVIEW WITH REBEKAH BESFORD FROM THE HORSE’S MOUTH

rebekahLET’S TALK TO REBEKAH BESFORD

What is your full name Rebekah? Rebekah (Elizabeth) Besford

Can you tell me a bit about yourself? I am married to Steve and have 3 children (2 girls, 1 boy). As a child I always wanted to go to Africa when I grew up – someone had come into school when I was 8 and talked about their experience in Malawi. When I finished school I went to Zimbabwe for a year which was an amazing time and confirmed my childhood dream. I studied nursing at Leeds University with a view of returning to Africa. As a student I was involved in a lot of social justice campaigning including Jubilee 2000 – Jubilee 2000 was an international campaign calling on the governments of the rich nations to cancel the debts of the world’s poorest countries by the year 2000.. When I qualified I went to Mozambique where I spent the next 10 years of my life. I met my husband out there (he had taken a year off work from being a British Airway’s engineer after 9/11). We returned to Leeds in 2010. I now work as a health visitor.

What does your job involve? Health visitors support families with children up to the age they start school.  I am based in south Leeds and have the privilege of meeting families from all around the world. We visit families in their own homes just before they have a baby and then afterwards.  We are there to provide support in whatever way a family needs whilst keeping the healthy development of the child as our focus.

To read more and to subscribe for free,  please click on: www.deancharltonmag.com

Leave a Reply

